top of page

Apple Cinnamon Muffins

You know the one thing I love more than baking? Baking while it's raining outside. And that's what I did today when I created these amazing apple cinnamon crumb muffins. Oh my god. The cinnamon smell was so amazing when they were baking, I just wanted to curl up with a blanket and stare out the window.

But I didn't. I grabbed my laptop and got onto my blog to give you guys the recipe for these fabulous muffins. You're welcome.

Just like the banana bread recipe that I posted last week, this is another one bowl, super easy recipe. All you gotta do is stir all the ingredients together, sprinkle with some awesome crumb topping, and stick them in the oven! This is a great one to make with kids for that reason.

Note to all those who plan on preparing these like I did- without liners, just straight in the tin. Make sure you grease your cupcake tins very well! I'm not kidding, it's no fun when you are staring at that delicious goodness and you can't get them out of the pan.

I used buttermilk in this recipe, but if you don't have buttermilk you can just put milk in there instead. Alternatively, you can make your own buttermilk by putting about a teaspoon of lemon juice into the milk and letting it sit for a couple minutes before adding.

And did I mention? Pecans are my new favorite thing. I literally have them in my cereal. Is that crazy or what? They're just so rich and nutty, so I had to add them to the topping of this muffin. I used walnuts last time I baked these and they were bitter, not giving the desired effect. But you can use whatever you want.

YIELD: 12 muffins | SERVES: 12 | PREP TIME: 5 minutes | COOK TIME: 20 minutes

FOR THE MUFFINS:

1 egg

3/4 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 apple, pared and chopped

2 cups flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

FOR THE TOPPING:

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup chopped pecans

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease 12 medium muffin cups thoroughly.

Beat egg. Stir in milk, oil, and chopped apple. Fold in flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon just until flour is moistened; batter will be lumpy. Distribute batter evenly into greased muffin cups and sprinkle with the mixture of brown sugar, chopped nuts, and cinamon.

Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes. Let cool slightly before removing from pan.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page